Was haben R.E.M., Pearl Jam, Ted Leo, Boots Riley, Death Cab for Cutie, OK Go, Bob Mould, Calexico, Kathleen Hanna, The Donnas, Jerry Harrison, John Doe, Les Claypool, Kronos Quartet, Jimmy Tamborello, Street to Nowhere, The Locust, Rogue Wave, Guster, State Radio, Matt Wertz, Griffin House, Matt Nathanson und The Wrens gemeinsam?

- Sie haben die Initiative Rock The Net - Musicians For Network Neutrality ins Leben gerufen.

Rock the Net is a nationwide coalition of musicians and labels that support net neutrality. We come together to demonstrate to Congress and the FCC the music community's broad support for this principle. As musicians and entrepreneurs, we understand the importance of treating all websites and online music stores equally -- from the busiest music website to the smallest blog. We urge Congress to support network neutrality.

Gestern erschien eine ziemlich attraktive Compilation, um die Kampagne zu unterstützen. Darauf vertreten sind:

1. Bright Eyes - "I Won't Ever Be Happy Again"
2. Aimee Mann - "31 Today"
3. David Bazan - "Cold Beer and Cigarettes"
4. The Wrens - "Sleep"
5. The Classic Brown - "Modulation"
6. DJ Spooky and Saba Saba - "Uganda"
7. Palomar - "Red"
8. Guster - "Timothy Leary"
9. The Might Be Giants - "We Live In A Dump"
10. Wilco - "Impossible Germany (live)"
11. Portastic - "Hang Down Your Head"
12. Matthew Shipp Trio - "New Orbit"
13. B.C. Camplight - "Soy Tonto"
14. David Miller - "Sunday Driver"
15. Free Form Funky Freqs - "The Binds That Tie"
16. blink. - "Secret Weapon pt.1"

Sie ist digital/downloadmässig auf iTunes udn amazon zu bekommen, und wird auch als "echte" CD erhältlich sein. Wie sagen sie es im unten verlinkten Wired-Artikel so schön: If you support net neutrality or the general concept behind it, and boycott RIAA labels, this is one release you may want to actually spend money on.

Die Songs kann man auch auf der Seite von Thirsty Ear Records streamen.

Mehr dazu siehe auch auf wired.com und heise.de